Final Lesson: Street Performing

Every since I was a kid I have admired street performers. I always thought they were the coolest for sticking themselves out there, entertaining random audiences, and making money. Loved it.

When I was 16 I started, I knew one song. I played “You and Me,” By Life House over an over again on Main Street across from Pizza Sam’s until someone gave me money. I don’t know if it was a sympathy give or if it was because I was good, but as soon as I made a dollar I ran with it. Learned more songs, made up songs, traveled to New York, Boston, Chicago, etc. I have never invested in something that has taught me so much about people. and myself.

So, since I am a teacher I want to teach about things that make me excited too, that way my job isn’t boring. So I took some of my kids street performing in Frankenmuth. We had our Drums, a few mics, and a keyboard.

They. Killed. It.

Wow! Natural performers, they way they interacted with the crowd. The way the took control of the street and gained peoples respect and attention was incredible. I was able to guide with tips on how to keep an audience and show gratefulness for people’s time and especially their tips, but I could tell that 2 hrs. performing on the street was more impactful than anything in the classroom. They made $190 in 2 hrs.

The coolest part was seeing them encourage each other and loving watching them feel like rockstars while people pulled out their phones to video them and compliment them.

I’d encourage any art teacher to take a group of students to a street to perform, it is a great experience.

Keon finishes a custom verse about one of the fans on the street.
Keon finishes a custom verse about one of the fans on the street.
Beasts of the Beat set up on the corner
IMG_3249
Using our tip money to grab some ice cream
IMG_3208
The boys in the middle of their new song “Champion”
IMG_3261
Ice cream before heading back to Highland Park

 

Leave a Reply

