How Busta Rhymes keeps poverty alive and well.

Who’s fault is poverty.

Can it be a personal decision? sometimes.

Generational poverty? sure.

I’m not super interested in who’s fault it is, but I do like to help people out of it.

There are TONS of reasons that people are impoverished and plenty of people to blame but I haven’t heard anyone talking about how our cultures rap-stars help keep people in poverty.

I believe people should stop pointing the finger at policy, politicians, legislation, and lack of funds for the overwhelmingly impoverished communities in our nation.  Start knocking on Busta Rhymes door. and Kanye’s door. And Lil Waynes door. and 2 chaniz door. and Jay-Z’s door, Why?

Because they are, what I would personally consider, the “Tru” enablers of poverty. These celebrities show my kids what’s valuable, what makes a person, how to interact with each other, with girls, what makes someone a man… And it is crap. 

Watch this video and come back..

http://www.kevinnottingham.com/2013/11/26/busta-rhymes-thank-you-feat-q-tip-lil-wayne-and-kanye-west-music-video/

Here is my theory: With a consistent output of music like “Thank you,” “I Luv Dem Strippers,” and “I am a God“. These rappers will successfully keep a large majority of my students disillusioned with rolex watches, Hennessy bottles, polo logos, Louis Vuitton belt buckles, True Religion jeans and Cartiers with the dark tint.

I wrote this poem about why I do what I do that you can purchase off of iTunes if you enjoy it.

I’m picking up the mess

Hip-Hop culture

Two Chainz, see you’re the best

Not many people can talk about strippers

and claim to be “different” at the same time

I got my own struggles with purity

But, I also know I got 300 kids looking at me

Brace for impact

it’s a weight on my shoulders

But I can handle it

I’ll own that

They’re gonna imitate

But I’ll initiate

I’m not a rap-star but I can show my kids honor

I tour 10 months a year with teachers

and that’s just for starters

I can show my dedication

Model being a father

I don’t need a mic or stage lights

They burn up

They blow out

My whole crowd…It’s sold out.

I aint’ fueled by the fame

I aint’ fooled by the money

Every word is love and that’s why the can’t stop me

You got my whole school rocking your songs Two Chainz

But no more of them are going to college

In fact

More of them are facing struggles

Cause they want sex and entertainment

Instead of being men hard workers and fathers

See cause you’re so dope

It’s common knowledge

So busy helping with nothing

Wasting verse after verse

with billions watching

And all you can muster up is noticing your ceiling’s missing

International exposure, middle finger up.

It’s garbage, join your competition

Kanye, the world doesn’t need any more Gods.

At least he doesn’t claim to be different

Cause he’s not

Got whole songs dedicated to bringing down women

Saying the types of things that would put a normal guy in prison

It’s a messed up story but I’ma Help clean it up

Call it like Wiz Khalifa, cause I’ma work hard

But I’ll play harder to unscrew what y’all screwed up

My kids deserve better than you

My kids deserve better than this

I’m bringing some thing new to this generation of Kids

One Reply to “How Busta Rhymes keeps poverty alive and well.”

  1. A brave and bold statement that needs to be heard by everyone. Thanks Joe, for having the courage and conviction to your values, and for sharing this important message.

Leave a Reply

